le book review number sixty-four~ miss peregrine's home for peculiar children

Sunday, 2 December 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: miss peregrine's home for peculiar children
author: ransom riggs
series/standalone: series I believe
personal star rating: 5/5 stars

description from goodreads (since i had to return the overdue book before i could type this up):
A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. Fiction is based on real black and white photographs. The death of grandfather Abe sends sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and explores abandoned bedrooms and hallways. The children may still live.

thoughts on the title:
curious title, intriguing.

thoughts on the cover:
definitely the reason i really wanted to read this book. I really wanted to read it and i heard many good things about it and the cover was so interesting and unique.

review:
I'm being generous with my stars. I'm pretty sure if I were to read it again, i'd feel differently but i thought the idea was very interesting and different. It was strange in a few ways and sometimes i was confused (but i also  spent a lot of time reading this book and not properly digesting it). The characters were unique in many aspects but at the same time it seems perhaps they weren't as developed as I would have liked. The vintage photographs were astonishing really though. i'm a big fan of the strange wondrous forgotten photos compiled into this book to tell a story. Overall, this was intriguing, interesting, and worth reading. Really worth reading again? That's a good question.

le book review number sixty-three~ the statistical probability of love at first sight

Sunday, 4 November 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: the statistical probability of love at first sight
author: jennifer e. smith
series/standalone: standalone
personal star rating: 4.4/5 stars

from the back cover:
who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life...but then se meets the perfect boy in JFK airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's sitting in her row. After a long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the chaos of the airport upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?
Set over a twenty-four-hour period, Hadley and Oliver's story makes you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it.

thoughts on the front cover:
the title font is remarkable. I like the grayscale with the colour splash. I like the blurred people with the focus simply on the couple in the heart.

first sentence:
"There are so many ways it could have all turned out differently."

review:
I really liked this book. I liked the innocent love story told in 24 hours. I like the idea that someone can find someone so suddenly and know that it's right. I think it's a cute story, albeit predictable. The characters were reasonably well constructed but it seemed that Hadley was given almost too many imperfections to make her seem more real. But overall, she was pretty strong with her uniqueness. I liked the whole airport/ airplane aspect. It gives it a very suspended appeal of in-between and that's exactly where both characters are. I quite enjoyed reading this book. It had it's moments and I'd consider reading it again.

le book review number sixty-two~ hate list

Sunday, 14 October 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: hate list
author: jennifer brwon
personal star rating: 3.5/5 stars

thoughts on the cover:
I had heard about the book before i saw the cover. it's not the most intriguing cover but it's fitting for the book itself.

from the inside cover:
What if you wished someone would die and then it happened?

What if the killer was someone you loved?

Five months ago, Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets.
Now, after a summer of seclusion  Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends, and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

review:
I read this book about a month ago. I became so busy with school that I haven't had time to actually write the review for it.

This book was very intriguing. The whole idea of a school shooting was what first interested me simply because of the content. I had read some reviews that praised it so when I found it on sale I decided to buy it. I wasn't sure at first what I was going to think in the end. Valerie was a bit annoying in some ways and some of the things she did seemed strange for her to do. I found it to be better than I was expecting and it's one that I might read again but probably not for a long time. It was a pretty memorable book with the feeling and idea but the details were somewhat forgettable. Overall this was a pretty good book.

le book review number sixty one~ th1rteen r3asons why

Monday, 20 August 2012

| | | 1 comments
title: th1rteen r3asons why
author: jay asher
personal star rating: 5/5 stars

thoughts on the cover:
I like the cover a lot. It just works in some way. Sure, there could be improvement, there could be a better suited cover out there, but it works for me.

from the back cover:
"You can't stop the future.
You can't rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret.
...is to press play.

Clay Jensen doesn't want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her.
Then Hannah's voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes - and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death.
All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah's recorded words throughout his small town...
...and what he discovers changes his life forever."

review:
I wasn't sure if I really wanted to give this five stars. I mean, I could argue that the events didn't seem realistic in every aspect. But I don't want to. I don't want to question anything about this book except that it has changed something in me. Maybe changed isn't the right word. Perhaps has unlocked something deep inside and it just seemed really important that . It made me feel a lot of things. I cried so many times throughout this book and that is a rare occurrence when it comes to something like this. Perhaps it's the whole concept and idea that I liked so much about this book that the actual events weren't quite as important as what the feelings, the people, the cassette tapes. I love cassette tapes. I don't want to start rambling on about them so I'll leave it that they were integral to my childhood. The characters all had their flaws, but they were so stunning, so impacting, so real. I will admit that the situations didn't always seem likely, but when Hannah described them, they were right there for you to be a part of. I don't want to over analyze this book. I want to just be thankful that I experienced it.

le book review number sixty~ crushed

| | | 0 comments
title: crushed
author: Laura and Tom McNeal
personal star rating: 2/5 stars

thoughts on the cover:
I  think it doesn't make sense if you don't read about the schoolgirls. It's plain, a bit boring, and different. Usually I like unique covers, but this was just odd and it was not bought because of how it looked.

from the back cover:
"Audrey composed herself as best she could, turned in her seat, and prepared to introduce herself. She wasn't, however, prepared for what she saw. He'd looked handsome when he was at the front of the classroom, but seeing his face up close, she felt a little dizzy. 
In a low, shaky voice she said, "Hi. I'm Audrey Reed."
In a whispery drawl, he seemed to say his name was Wiggim Hill.
"Wiggam?" Audrey whispered. It was the oddest name she'd ever heard.
"Wickham," he said, and made a turned-down smile that seemed almost to imply the name was a mystery to him, toom.
Audrey didn't know what to say next, but she knew she had to say something. She whispered, "Are you here for good?"
This time he broke into an easy smile and fixed his eyes on hers. "As opposed to evil?"
She laughed. She shouldn't have, but she couldn't help it."

from the inside cover:
"Three little maids from school are we, 
Pert as a schoolgirl well can be
Filled to the brim with girlish glee"

Audrey and her best friends Lea and C.C. have just arrived at Jemison High from the one-room private school where they performed Gilbert and Sullivan musicals, where they adored Edith Wharton. They're a nerdy little trio, so everyone is shocked when the handsome new guy, Wickham hill, asks Audrey out.
Audrey is soon so smitten that she doesn't pay attention to The Yellow Paper, a vicious underground newspaper at school. Or to that lurking guy in World Cultures, who stares. But before long, The Yellow Paper threatens to tell a tale that will change everything. And when Audrey goes looking for the truth, she finds some unexpected allies - and enemies.
The acclaimed authors of Crooked and Zipped bring their signature suspense and razor-sharp dialogue to this compelling new novel about love, friendship, and the crushing power of secrets.

review:
Again, this book was read a couple weeks ago. It seemed similar to When it Happens in a lot of ways. The characters got to a point that they were annoying, they just didn't connect with me in a way that I would have enjoyed more. Some aspects of this book were interesting and different, but overall it just wasn't that good. Again, I don't have very much to say about this book. I didn't think it was really worth it in the end. The beginning had the makings of a good story, but it fell apart.

le book review number fifty-nine~ when it happens

| | | 0 comments
title: when it happens
author: susane colasanti
personal star rating: 2.9 stars

from the back cover:
"Seniors in high school, Sara and Tobey couldn't be more different. She is focused on getting into her first-choice college; he wants to win Battle of the Bands. Sara's other goal is to find true love, so when Dave, a popular jock, asks her out, she's thrilled. But then there's Tobey. His amazing blue eyes and quirky wit always creep into her thoughts. Lucky for Sara, one of Tobey's goals is also to make her fall in love with him. Told in alternating points of view, Sara and Tobey's real connection will have everyone rooting for them from the minute they meet!"

thoughts on the cover:
It is pretty basic. I liked the idea of it when I bought the book, but the actual picture doesn't seem right for the book after reading.

review:
I read this book weeks ago but didn't get around to actually writing a review. I felt that it wasn't memorable (and you may argue that it is because I didn't write a review right away (and you maybe be a little right)) but even as I read, the events just weren't as exciting as I would have liked. It was a nice enough filler book for the summer but it wasn't really worth the time in the end. I originally really didn't like how it ended, but now I'm apathetic. It would be interesting to see what I think after a second read, but for now I'm going to put it on a shelf.

le book review number fifty-eight ~ this dark endeavor

Sunday, 12 August 2012

| | | 4 comments
title: this dark endeavor
author: kenneth oppel
series/standalone: series (book #1 in The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein series)
personal star rating: 5/5 stars

from the inside cover:
The purest intentions can stir up the darkest obsessions

Sixteen-year-old Victor Frankenstein leads a charmed life. He and his twin brother, Konrad, and their beautiful cousin Elizabeth, take lessons at home and spend their spare time fencing and horseback rider. Along with their friend Henry, they have explored all the hidden passageways and secret rooms on the palatial Frankenstein chateau. Except on.
The Dark Library contains ancient tomes written in strange languages and filled with forbidden knowledge. Their father makes them promise never to visit the library, but when Konrad becomes deathly ill, Victor knows he must find the book that contains the recipe for the legendary Elixir of Life.
The elixir needs only three ingredients. But impossible odds, dangerous alchemy and a bitter love triangle threaten the quest at every turn. Victor knows he must not fail. But his success depends on how far he is willing to push the boundaries of nature, science and love - and how much he is willing to sacrifice.

thoughts on the cover:
This book was a gift so I'm not sure what prompted the initial buying. However, I'm a big fan of the cover design. The concept of the key is intriguing. I like it a lot. And the guy on the cover has wicked awesome hair that reminds me a lot of Andrew Garfield.

review:
I actually read the book about a couple weeks ago but I haven't written a review because I want to express my love of this book. However, I'm going to try and say something that will make it sound as good as it is. This novel is a prequel to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, but I don't think it matters if you've read that. I think you might want to know at least a little about it, but I haven't read the original of that book as of yet so I couldn't tell you if it was extremely relevant anyway. I did read an abridged version and a graphic novel at one point in my life so I do know the story. I digress. Anyway, the characters are great creations. The writing was phenomenal, the word choice and phrasing was impeccable and I quite loved how surprising and shocking everything was. This book was like nothing I've ever read and I am quite certain that if I read it again, I'd enjoy it.

my shelf this monday~ (6/8/2012)

Monday, 6 August 2012

| | | 0 comments
I have yet to write a review for this dark endeavor and when it happens. I must do that soon. I think I'm going to read crushed this week and maybe thirteen reasons why since they've both been on my shelf for awhile.

feature friday~ bookcases (15)

Saturday, 4 August 2012

| | | 2 comments

My sister found the bookcases for the feature today. Mostly since it was actually friday yesterday and I seemed to have mixed my days up during new month and thought friday was actually today. So she went searching and found these. What I like about these bookshelves is their idea. The concept is like another that I featured a few weeks ago. With these shelves though, their colours would work in a variety of settings. I could see these in a modern library holding classic books, to show the roots of literature. Some symbolism, if I may. 

my shelf this monday~ (30/7/2012)

Monday, 30 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
I finished reading this dark endeavor on thursday. I haven't written a review yet for that book.

This week I plan on watching a lot of Olympics events so I'm not sure if I'll manage to read anything. However, the two books on my up next section will be the ones I tackle if I do.

So what are you reading?

feature friday~ bookcases (14)

Saturday, 28 July 2012

| | | 0 comments

I like the colour of these shelves and the concept of it. I think the style of these are very intriguing. I think it would need a darker wall colour behind to balance out the brightness. I think the simplistic design gives it a very versatile appeal. I really like this.

my shelf this monday~ (23/7/2012)

Monday, 23 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
I'm currently reading this dark endeavor by kenneth oppel. Once I finish this book, I plan on reading crushed by laura mcneal and when it happens by susane colasanti. I think these should take me the week, but if not, I might get around to reading Divergent.

le book review number fifty-seven~ how i live now

Sunday, 22 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: how i live now
author: meg rosoff
series/standalone: standalone
personal star rating: 2.5/5 stars

from the inside cover:
"It would be much easier to tell this story if it were all about a chaste and perfect love between Two Children Against the World at an Extreme Time in History. . . .


This is a story about love.
It's also a story about hate, which is why I left New York in the first place. You don't fly halfway across the world to live with a bunch of people you never met, just for a laugh.
I guess if I'd known where it was all going to lead, I might have thought twice about stepping onto that place. I might have worried a little more about Edmond being my cousin.
And me being fifteen.
But I didn't. And in the end, those things didn't matter as much as you think they would.
In the end, the world had bigger things to worry about than us."

thoughts on the cover:
I found the cover to be interesting and it was the reason I picked it up. The reason I bought the book was the description. I hadn't heard of it before and it seemed like it would be different from what I'd read.

review:
Overall, I gave this book 2.5 out of 5 stars. I could probably squeeze .5 of a star if I looked hard enough, but even that's a stretch. I am sort of indifferent towards the whole thing but I don't plan on reading it again. The beginning was rather slow and once the action started happening, it didn't really pick up. I found the description of the setting to be really confusing. I assume it was designed to feel like Daisy had stepped into another world, but the references to modern technology gave it a futuristic feel in a past event. I found that to be a good idea, but at the same time I just didn't understand where she was going with it. The characters were unique and original but they weren't the most understandable. Daisy (who the story is told through) wasn't very easy to relate to. The book overall was not that good.

feature friday~ bookcases (13)

Friday, 20 July 2012

| | | 0 comments

If I were to use these shelves, this would be exactly how I would use the,. I would probably have to fill it with more books, but I like the different decorations incorporated into this. The colours blended together look amazing and I really quite enjoy this piece. For aesthetics, I'd probably have the pages outward rather than the spine (and I usually find it unhelpful when looking for a specific book, but it would be great for surprises. If you put all your TBRs, you'd be able to get through them if you chose randomly.) Anyway, these shelves are great.

le book review number fifty-six~ the year of secret assignments*

| | | 0 comments
title: the year of secret assignments*
author: jaclyn moriarty
series/ standalone: it's a companion book but i haven't read the first book and it doesn't make a difference.
personal star rating: 4/5 stars

from the back cover:
"* Diary Entries, Rude Graffiti, Hate Mail, Love Letters, Revenge Plots, Date Plans, Notes Between Friends, and Famous Last Words." 


from the inside cover:
"The companion to the bestselling Feeling Sorry for Celia


Lydia, Emily, and Cassie have always shared everything - guy problems, skipping school, even Significant Secret Assignments. But when they're given pen pals at rival Brookfield High, they write forth in individual style:
Lydia: "Dear Person at Brookfield: I am a fish. You wouldn't think so to look at me, what with my uniform and the hair on top of my head and all that. But it's true. I am a fish."
Emily: "My interests: Don't get me started about chocolate! My nickname might be 'Em,' but it's also 'Toblerone'! I think this is an angiogram of Thompson, which is my last name."
Cassie: "I always think it's funny when a teacher tries to be cool. I want to sit them down and say 'It's okay, you're a grown-up, you're allowed to be a nerd,' and they will look up at me confused but also relieved and teary-eyed."
It turns out their pen pals are just as distinctive. Sebastian is a sensitive artist with a major soccer obsession. Charlie is a part time car thief and a completely sweet guy. But Matthew... well, he's either a psychopath or a figment of Cassie's imagination, neither of which is a good thing. And what starts out as a simple letter exchange leads to spy missions, false alarms, lock picking, legal drama, parental edicts, mistaken identities, and all-out war between the schools - not to mention Dates with Girls and some really excellent kissing.
Told entirely through its characters' notes, letters, diaries, and e-mails, The Year of Secret Assignments* is the laugh-out-loud story of three girls figuring out who they are - and one friendship that lasts no matter what."


my thoughts on the front cover:
I like the fonts that were used. The picture, although relevant, doesn't play the largest role overall for the book. It wasn't the reason I decided to buy the book. I picked the book up based on the title and the description and didn't pay much attention to the cover because it was simple and the smiley face seemed odd looking.

review:
I finished reading this book on monday and I still don't really know how I felt about it. I think that it was obvious in some places and it was predictable in others. Although the concept isn't the most original, it was portrayed well. I found the characters to be relatively distinct to begin with but as it progressed, they became very similar in many aspects. I found the way the letters were split was different but at times the way the information was explained, it didn't seem completely natural. There were some parts that were very humorous, there were some parts that made you feel a bit down, but overall, it was a pretty good read. I might read it again. Compared to some books that are similar to this style, this book was unique and interesting so if you are looking for that, this is it.

my shelf this monday~ (16/7/2012)

Monday, 16 July 2012

| | | 2 comments
I finished a number of books last week and I hope to continue my stride. I plan on finishing the year of secret assignments and also managing to read crushed, how i live now, and when it happens. I also have to read this dark endeavor which i hope to get done this week.

So what are you reading this week?

le book review number fifty-five~ underdogs

Sunday, 15 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: underdogs
author: markus zusak
series/standalone: there is a trilogy bound together in the one book.
personal star rating: 5/5 stars

from the back cover:
"He stands and grabs me by the front of my jersey, right at my heart. He says, 'I'm Ruben Wolfe,' and he says it hard. He throws the words into my face. 'And you're Cameron Wolfe. That's gotta start meaning somethin' boy. That's gotta start churnin' inside us, making us wanna be someone for those names, and not be just another couple of guys who amounted to nothin' but what people said we would. No way. We're gettin' out of that. We have to. We're gonna crawl and moan and fight and bite and bark at anything that gets in our way or tries to hunt us down and shoot us. All right?'
'Okay.' I nod."


thoughts on the cover:
I like the picture and the title on this cover. The red on the blue sky gives the whole book a wonderful appeal. I don't know if the font used at the bottom to list the books and the colour of them really works, but I quite enjoy this cover. However, I don't know if it would draw me in if Markus Zusak hadn't been the author.


first line:
"We were watching the telly when we decided to rob the dentist."


review:
This book was an amazing novel about brothers and what family means. I definitely decided to buy this book because of the author but at the same time I postponed reading it for over a year. However, I'm glad I did. Included in Underdogs is The Underdog, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, and Getting the Girl. I'll do a separate section for each novel.

The Underdog: What can I say about the Underdog? I can say a lot, but I don't want to spoil anything. I'd like to begin with Cameron Wolfe. Cameron cares. He cares a whole awful lot about everybody, but most of all he cares about his family. We see how he and his brother Ruben (Rube) look out for each other and how they are as close as brothers and act just likes brothers should. Sure, they don't always agree, but they both know they'll look out for each other no matter what.

Fighting Ruben Wolfe: This was a truly remarkable story about family and what it means to look out for each other. There were more struggles in this part, but as brothers, and as friends, and as a family, they all stuck together to make it. We see the personal growth in Rube through Cameron's eyes and we are able to root for the Underdog the entire time.

Getting the Girl: Sometimes Cameron just wants to win. He just wanted the girl. He wanted to treat her right, he wanted to do good by her, and he was given a chance. However, he and Rube grew apart. They suddenly weren't looking out for each other anymore. And Rube is in trouble with his new girlfriend's ex-boyfriend. Cam has to step up for once in his life to do what nobody else would do for Rube.

Overall, these three novels are wonderful. It shows what it means to be a brother and everything about these is honest and raw and Miffy that bloody awful dog. I love that dog.

feature friday~ bookcases (12)

Friday, 13 July 2012

| | | 2 comments

I adore these shelves. The design and colours work beautifully. I find the top picture and bottom right to be more artistically designed than the bottom left but still the design of all of these are amazing. I especially love the tree because books are made of paper and it's like putting them back into the tree. I think these are amazing shelves and I wouldn't hesitate to buy these and put them somewhere in the house.

le book review number fifty-four~ i am the messenger

Thursday, 12 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: i am the messenger
author: markus zusak
series/ standalone: standalone
personal star rating: 5/5 stars

from the back cover:
Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He's pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.
That's when the first ace arrives in the mail.
That's when Ed becomes the messenger.
Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who's behind Ed's mission?


first sentence:
"the gunman is useless."

review:
I am the messenger is amazing. Markus Zusak is amazing. I've had I am the messenger for a long time. I hadn't picked it up because of reluctance (because I was expecting great things), but more because I read the Book Thief and I didn't want disappointment. But I was not disappointed. I was completely surprised with how truly marvelous this book is. The characters were all so original, so well described, and the description of all the situations were at their finest. Humor and emotion combine to make this an unforgettable, life-changing, new perspective of life giving, fabulous novel. It had an ending that wasn't anticipated and I will be in awe of this novel. I would read it again this instant. I recommend this book wholeheartedly.

le book review number fifty-three~ cat's cradle

| | | 0 comments
title: cat's cradle
author: kurt vonnegut
series/ standalone: standalone
personal star rating: 4.4/5 stars

from the back cover:
Cat's Cradle is Kurt Vonnegut's satirical commentary on modern man and his madness. An apocalypitic tale of this planet's ultimate fate, it features a midget as the protagonist, a complete, original theology created by a calypso singer, and a vision of the future that is at once blackly fatalistic and hilariously funny. A book that left an indelible mark on an entire generation of readers, Cat's Cradle is one of the twentieth century's most important works - and Vonnegut at his very best.


first sentence:
"Call me Jonah."


review:
This book has been on my shelf for at least a year, but I just didn't pick it up. I've read a couple other Vonnegut books so I had an idea what his writing style was like and I quite enjoyed his other books. However, I had no idea what I was in for with this particular book. I must say it wasn't as memorable as I had hoped for but I wasn't disappointed. I found that I couldn't help myself at times and I'd let out a quiet laugh or a chuckle here and there. It took unexpected turns and in the end, it really didn't have anything to do with the beginning but it all seemed to make sense as I progressed through it. The characters are very different from a lot of books you see today and I quite enjoy that about factor. The way he describes things is amazing. Vonnegut's ability to create such thought-provoking, mind blowing, and incredible stories are timeless pieces. I recommend this book.

le book review number fifty-two~ the cardturner

Wednesday, 11 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: the cardturner: a novel about a king, a queen, and a joker
author: louis sachar
series/ standalone: standalone
personal star rating: 4.5/5 stars

from the back cover:
"My mother walked into the kitchen where I was standing. Her eyes were filled with delight. She placed her hand over the phone and whispered, 'It's Mrs. Mahoney. She wants you to play cards with Uncle Lester on Saturday. He and Toni Casteneda got into a big fight!'
I brought the phone to my ear. 'Hello?'
'Do you know the difference between a king and a jack?' asked a gruff voice that did not belong to Mrs. Mahoney.
'Uh, yes, sir,' I said.
My mother's eyes widened when she realized whom I was talking to. 'Tell him he's your favorite uncle.' she urged.
'Do you know how to play bridge?' asked my uncle.
I didn't, but thought that maybe I could fake it.
'Tell him you love him,' said my mother.
'No,' I said to my uncle (and to my mother).
'Good!' barked my uncle. 'It's better that way!'
'Well?' my mother asked, once I'd hung up.
'I'm supposed to take him to his club on Saturday and play bridge with him.'
My mother put her hands on my shoulders, looked me straight in the eye, and gave me her best motherly advice.
'Don't screw it up, Alton.'


first sentence:
"Ever since I was a little kid, I've had it drilled into me that my uncle Lester was my favorite uncle."

thoughts on the cover:
I can honestly say the cover was a big draw for me. It's simple, in a thought-provoking way. It doesn't really tie in the with book, but the streamlined blue train behind a mysterious person definitely made me pick it up. I'll admit, I was going to buy this book a long time before I actually did and it took even longer for me to actually read. Although the concept was interesting, I had other books that came first. However, despite the fact I didn't pick it up, the book itself looked intriguing and I kept it on the top of a pile so I could look at it. So the cover was large factor for me picking it up, and combined with the description, they were equal in making me pick this book up.

review:
After reading Holes in grade four (or five), I was expecting a lot from this author. And I wasn't disappointed. It of course could have been a little better, but I wasn't let down with an interesting concept that was portrayed well. This book was very different from anything I'd read - but it's uniqueness was maybe what made me love it. there were a few drawbacks, but they were very minor. I would have liked to know the characters a little more, I'd have liked it to be a bit more memorable overall rather than several instances. Although these several instances were worth it. As for it's impact though, I definitely have the desire to learn Bridge. Although I don't know people offhand who would teach me. I liked the descriptions that were used and the word choices were very creative and unique. A novel about bonding, bridge, and becoming someone else really leaves you with a lasting impression and a new perspective.

As for characters, Alton was decent and interesting. He was a bit plain but he managed to have good moments. Lester (or Trapp, as he was more commonly referred to) was hilarious. He would say something insightful, or something cynical, or something else entirely that just made you pause and think about it. Toni was very interesting. Her personality was a bit hard to get at. Cliff was very typical, and our descriptions of Katie are very limited and biased. Leslie was amazing. I liked her a lot. Alton's mother was a piece of work. And Alton's father was also the same way.

I found this book to be worth the read, and very insightful. I recommend it.

le book review number ffity-one~ 12,000 inspirational quotations

| | | 2 comments
title: 12,000 inspirational quotations: a treasury of spiritual insights and practical wisdom
author: edited and compiled by frank s. mead
pages: too many
star rating: 3/5 stars

from the back cover:
(some quotes from the book that i feel there is no need on retyping. if you are interested, read the book)
This comprehensive collection of inspirational quotations from history's greatest thinkers includes 12,000 quotations culled from 2,500 sources. Quotations are organized in 200 alphabetically arranged subject categories. Author and topic indexes put the quote you need at your fingertips.

so i've finally made my way through this book. unfortunately, it was not really worth it. I mean, some of the quotes were alright, but i found myself skimming after the half-way mark. I would recommend reading the quotes in topics that interest you, but as for the whole book, you can skip and skim and still only find a few that you really like.



my shelf this monday~ (9/7/2012)

Monday, 9 July 2012

| | | 2 comments
I finally finished reading that 500 page quote book!

And I started reading the cardturner by louis sachar.
I plan on reading other books that are on my shelf.
like maybe the picture of dorian gray.
that would be a good one.
and maybe rereading john green.

feature friday~ bookcases (11)

Friday, 6 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
I really like this shelving unit for many reasons. One, it's size. It would fit in a room without taking up too much space. I like the simple colours, it would fit in a lot of places without being too overpowering. I especially love the the different sizes of shelves. I think it looks great mixing with the bottles and the candles. The layout adds flair to an otherwise very simple bookcase. I like this bookcase a lot.

my shelf this monday~

Monday, 2 July 2012

| | | 0 comments
i know last week i said there were a ton of books that i was planning on reading.

i didn't start any of them.

between my sister's graduation and family visiting and cleaning the car and babysitting, my week was full. 

however, i did read seventy pages in a book of quotations the past week. a book that i've been slowly making my way through for months. it's around 500 pages and i'm on page 200 something. i'm around half-way through. so this week i want to finish that. i really do.

and of course i have numerous other books i have to read as well.

but my challenge this week is just the quote book.

feature friday~ bookcases (10)

Friday, 29 June 2012

| | | 4 comments

this little shelving unit is so intriguing and different. I love the concept and the portrayal. Although it's size isn't as large as other bookcases, the design is so unique that it would add spice to any room. I would buy these shelves any day and put the books that I absolutely adore in the top four squares and the books that I don't like as much on the bottom. It would be like my favourite books were superior and crushing all the other books. (the last sentence was a needless explanation of an obvious observation.) This simple little unit is conceptually perfect and I adore it. 

my shelf this monday~

Monday, 25 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
what's new on my shelf?

nothing. there is nothing that's new.

however, I have a whole pile of books to read that i've mentioned previously but didn't get around to reading. I finished writing my last exam this afternoon, so finals are over and summer will begin!

I really have a ton of reading to catch up on.

In my TBR pile this week, I want to read the cardturner by louis sachar. I also plan on re-reading looking for alaska and paper towns to kick off summer.

I'm also interested in reading something that's been on my shelf for over a year - i am the messenger by markus zusak. as well as underdogs which has been on the shelf almost as long.

So this should keep me busy this week. What are you reading this summer?

feature friday~ bookcases (9)

Friday, 22 June 2012

| | | 3 comments

what i especially love about this shelving unit, is the corner piece. It's not a 90 degree angle so it gives it a softer look instead of the harsh cutoff between the two walls. It's a smooth merge from one side to the next. I like the shelves under the window, and the only thing that would make this perfect would be a window seat. The wood has a light colour and matches with the floor. Perhaps a little too matchy, but it's nice.

le book review number fifty~ mostly harmless

| | | 0 comments
title: mostly harmless
author: douglas adams
series: hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy (#5/5)
personal star rating: 4.98/5 stars


from the back cover:
"The hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy has, in what we laughingly call the past, had a great deal to say on the subject of parallel universes. Very little of this is, however, at all comprehensible to anyone below the level of advanced god and, since it is now well established that all known gods came into existence a good three-millionths of a second after the Universe began rather than, as they usually claimed, the previous week, they already have a great deal of explaining to do as it is, and are therefore not available for comment at this time . . ."


first sentence:
"The history of the Galaxy has got a little muddled, for a number of reasons: partly because those who are trying to keep track of it have got a little muddled, but also because some very muddling things have been happening anyway."

review:
this book overall was probably my favourite. i liked it a whole lot. everything tied together and everything ended in a way that was unexpected but in a way that it also couldn't have ended any other way. i found it to be easier to follow along and to see how everything tied together.

le book review number fourty-nine~ so long and thanks for all the fish

Tuesday, 19 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: so long, and thanks for all the fish
author: douglas adams
series/standalone: the hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy #4/5
personal star rating: 4/5 stars

from the back cover:
"From the Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy:
"and then, one Thursday, nearly 2,000 years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change, a girl sitting on her own somewhere in Rickmansworth suddenly realised what it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no-one would have to get nailed to anything.
Sadly, however, before she could get to a phone to tell anyone about it the Earth was unexpectedly demolished to make way for a new hyperspace by-pass, and so the idea was lost forever. This is not her story..."
But So Long and Thanks for all the Fish is.
At least partly...
Arthur Dent finds her in the last place in the universe he would expect to find anything but which 3,976,000,000 people will find oddly familiar.


first sentence:
"Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun."


review:
I really liked reading this book. It was different from the other three earlier books and seemed to be easier to follow. I found it to be entertaining and enjoyable. I like this series. There's not much to say about it, just that it was good. I'm a bit indifferent about this series. It's good but I don't know how I'm feeling.

my shelf this monday~ (18/6/21012)

Monday, 18 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen came today!

Despite the fact I've read it already, my excitement is not at all diminished because this is now in my possession. And it was on sale when I ordered it which makes it so much better.

I finished reading so long, and thanks for all the fish. I have to still write a review, but I haven't had time. I have to finish Mostly Harmless by Friday because that's when the school library says it's due for the year so I'll have to finish that no matter what.

Anyway, I have 3 exams to write between now and next monday (1 on thursday and 2 on the monday), so until next monday, I'm only getting mostly harmless read.

feature friday~ bookcases (8)

Friday, 15 June 2012

| | | 2 comments

I love the diamond shape these shelves have. I love how it spreads across the whole wall. I would love to have this in my house. I really like many books you could put in these. It adds a whole new look to the classic squares. These are perfect.

le book review number fourty-eight~ life, the universe, and everything

Thursday, 14 June 2012

| | | 2 comments
title: life, the universe and everything
author: douglas adams
series/standalone: series - the hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy book #3
personal star rating: 4/5 stars

from the back cover:
The Answer is Forty-two... so what was the Question?
Since the improbable became a way of life for Arthur Dent, he's not surprised to find himself stranded on prehistoric Earth in a miserable cave. But when he hitches a ride out of the past and finds himself back where he started, he begins to wonder whether his life is ever going to make sense.


As the fate of the entire universe rests in his hands, Arthur is about to discover a secret about life, the universe and everything - it's really staggeringly, stupidly unfair.


The third book in Douglas Adams's legendary Hitchhiker's Guide trilogy plays fast and loose with facts, face and physics and is, like the universe itself, infinitely funny.

Note: I liked this cover better than the cover from the book I read.

first sentence:
"The regular early morning yell if horror was the sound of Arthur Dent waking up and suddenly remembering where he was."

review:
I'd like to say I enjoyed this book immensely. However, I did not. Maybe it's because I've had so much to study that I haven't had the time to enjoy these books and thoroughly enjoy them, it's more "I have to finish this before the end of the school year or I'll have to wait until September." But they are really good books, I can't figure out why I'm not enjoying them as much as I want to. Maybe my expectations were too high. Anyway, these are good books. Read them.

my shelf this monday~ (11/6/2012)

Monday, 11 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
There isn't much new on my shelf. I finished reading life the universe and everything but I didn't bring it home from school. So I'll write a review for that tomorrow if I remember to grab the book from my locker.

So on my shelf of books to get finished are the last two books in the hitchhiker's series and hopefully the two books from the series of unfortunate events series.

And maybe I'll read something that's on my shelf but due to exams coming up next week i'll probably not get much read. That's why i haven't had many reviews - too much exam studying.

So anyway, what are you reading this week?

feature friday~ bookcases (7)

Saturday, 9 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
Feature friday on a saturday? I'm only a day late.

I love the design of this bookcase. I love the colours and the clocks on the middle shelf. I would leave the clocks and put books all around on the other shelves. I love the map that hangs on the wall beside and the pink chair and table adds to the decor. I also love the long curtain. This would look good in a sitting room where the sun shines inside. It's very bright and beautiful.


le book review number fourty-seven~ the austere academy

Thursday, 7 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: the austere academy
author: lemony snicket
series/standalone: series - series of unfortunate events (#5)
pages: 221 pages
personal star rating: 4/5 stars

from the back cover:
"Dear Reader,
If you are looking for a story about cheerful youngsters spending a jolly time at boarding school, look elsewhere. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are intelligent and resourceful children, and you might expect that they would do very well at school. Don't. For the Baudelaires, school turns out to be another miserable episode in their unlucky lives.
Truth be told, within the chapters that make up this dreadful story, the children will face snapping crabs, strict punishments, dripping fungus, comprehensive exams, violin recitals, S.O.R.E., and the metric system.
It is my solemn duty to stay up all night researching and writing the history of these three hapless youngsters, but you may be more comfortable getting a good night's sleep. In that case, you should probably choose some other book.
With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket


first sentence:
"If you were going to give a gold medal to the least delightful person on Earth, you would have to give that medal to a person named Carmelita Spats, and if you didn't give it to her, Carmelita Spats was the sort of person who would snatch it from your hands anyway."

review: 
This book was good but it wasn't as good as the earlier books. It took me longer to get through and story itself got almost boring at points. The series is still good but it didn't have me wondering and waiting for more. This is just a short review since it's in a series and there isn't a lot to comment on except that it was an alright book.

my shelf this monday~ (4/6/2012)

Wednesday, 6 June 2012

| | | 0 comments
What's new on my shelf this week?
I plan on reading the hitchhiker books that I have from last week. I have to start studying for exams and teachers have been assigning a ton of homework for us to get done before the end of the school year so I don't know how much time I'll have for reading.

Anyway, what are you reading this week?

feature friday~ bookcases (6)

Friday, 1 June 2012

| | | 3 comments

What really drew me in about these shelves is the fireplace. I also love the table in the front. It would be perfect to have favourite books surrounding the centerpiece of a wall fireplace and be able to have hot chocolate on a winter day. I really like the colours as well and the simple design of two squares and two rectangles. I really like this design.

le book review number fourty-six~ flipped

Thursday, 31 May 2012

| | | 2 comments
title: flipped
author: wendelin van draanen
series/ standalone: standalone
pages: 212 pages
personal star rating: 5/5 stars

thoughts on the cover:
The cover is different. I like the aspect that you don't see this type of cover every day. I like the font colors, the typeface, and title treatment. I like the centered upside down chick. I really like this cover, but as for appeal, it's one I might glance and look at the back but it's not the sole reason for me picking up the book. With that being said, I'm grateful that I did pick it up and after reading the book, the cover is perfect.

from the back cover:
(Stylistically, this didn't translate as well as it should've from the back cover. Nevertheless, I tried to make it look as close as possible.)
Bryce: 
Julianna:
My mom didn't understand why it was so
What did a kiss feel like anyway?
awful that "that cute little girl" had held
Somehow I knew it wouldn't be like the
my hand. She thought I should be friends
one I got from Mom or Dad at bedtime.
with her. "You like soccer. Why don't you
The same species, maybe, but a radically
go out there and kick the ball around?"
different beast. Like a wolf and a whippet.
Because I didn't want to be kicked
Only science would put them on the same tree
around, that's why. And although I couldn't
Looking back, I like to think it was 
say it like that at the time, I still had
at least partly scientific curiosity that
enough sense at age seven and a half to
made me chase after that kiss, but it was
know that Julianna Baker was dangerous.
probably more those blue eyes.


first sentence:
"All I've ever wanted is for Juli Baker to leave me alone."


review:
I loved this book. I will admit, I did watch the movie before reading the book. Why? Because the movie was on tv and I've had it on my list for so long I just decided to watch the movie and see if I was still interested in the plot of the book.

Turns out I was.

Turns out I really love this book. I especially love Julianna Baker. She by far was so outstanding. I love the philosophical appeal, the way she's so thoughtful and insightful and how she really cares and stands for things. I love how I related to her in so many ways. I have so much appreciation for this book. Can I say it's one of my life changers? Strong possibility. This book is so beautiful. I'd recommend it immediately.

memorable moments number eleven~ flipped

| | | 3 comments
memorable moments:
flipped by wendelin van draanen


page 1:
"All I've ever wanted is for Juli Baker to leave me alone. For her to back off - you know, just give me some space."
It all started the summer before second grade when our moving van pulled into her neighborhood. And since we're now about done with eighth grade, that, my friend, makes more than half a decade of strategic avoidance and social discomfort.
She didn't just barge into my life. She barged and shoved and wedged her way into my life. Did we invite her to get into our moving van and start climbing all over boxes? No! But that's exactly what she did, taking over and showing off like only Juli Baker can.

xxx
page 2:
"This was the beginning of my soon-to-be-acute awareness that the girl cannot take a hint. Of any kind.


xxx
page 3:
"Finally I break free and do the only manly thing available when you're seven years old - I dive behind my mother.


xxx
page 4:
"My troubles were far from over, though. Every day she came back, over and over again. "Can Bryce play?" I could hear her asking from my hiding place behind the couch. "Is he ready yet?" One time she even cut across the yard and looked through my window. I spotter her in the nick of time and dove under my bed, but man, that right there tells you something about Juli Baker. She's got no concept of personal space. No respect for privacy. The world is her playground, and watch out below - Juli's on the slide!


xxx
page 5:
"Seriously. There's no wining arguments with your parents, so why get all pumped up over them? It is way better to dive down and get out of the way than it is to get clobbered by some parental tidal wave. 
The funny ting is, Lynetta's still clueless when it comes to dealing with Mom and Dad. She goes straight into thrash mode and is too busy drowning in the argument to take a deep breath and dive fore calmer water.
And she thinks I'm stupid."


xxx
page 6:
"My mom didn't understand why it was so awful that "that cute little girl" had held my hand. She thought I should make friends with her. "I thought you liked soccer, honey. Why don't you go out there and kick the ball around?"
Because I didn't want to be kicked around, that's why. And although I couldn't say it like that at the time, I still had enough sense at age seven and a half to know that Juli Baker was dangerous.
Unavoidably dangerous, as it turns out."


xxx
page 7:
"What better way to ward Juli off? What better way to say to her, "Juli you are not my type"?
And so, my friend, I hatched the plan.
I asked Shelly Stalls out.
To fully appreciate the brilliance of this, you have to understand that Julie hates Shelly Stalls. She always has, though it beats me why. Shelly's nice and she's friendly and she's got a lot of hair. What's not to like? But Julie hated her, and I was going to make this little gem of knowledge the solution to my problem.


xxx
page 8:
"Mr. Mertins has got some kind of doctorate in seating arrangements or something, because he analyzed and scrutinized and practically baptized the seats we had to sit in. And of course he decided to seat Juli next to me.
Juli Baker is the kind of annoying person who makes a point of letting you know she's smart."


xxx
page 9:
"I finally asked Mr. Mertins to move me, but he wouldn't do it. Something about not wanting to disturb the delicate balance of educational energy."


xxx
page 10:
"My heart stopped. It just stopped beating. And for the first time in my life, I had that feeling. You know, like the world is moving all around you, all beneath you, all inside you, and you're floating. Floating in midair. And the only thing keeping you from drifting away is the other person's eyes. They're connected to yours by some invisible physical force, and they hold you fast while the rest of the world swirls and twirls and falls completely away. 

xxx
page 17:
"No, this wasn't a job a boy could do gracefully. This was a job for a girl."

xxx
page 21:
"One day last year I'd finally had enough of her yakking about that stupid tree. I came right out and told her that it was not a magnificent sycamore, it was, in reality, the ugliest tree known to man. And you know what she said? She said I was visually challenged."


xxx
page 22:
"Mom and Juli's mom do talk some. I think my mom feels sorry for Mrs. Baker - she says she married a dreamer, and because of that, one of the two of them will always be unhappy."


xxx
page 23:
"There were about eight other kids altogether at our bus stop, which created a buffer zone, but it was no comfort zone. Juli always tried to stand beside me, or talk to me, or in some other way mortify me."

xxx
page 25:
"Stupid as it was, she loved that tree, and cutting it down would be like cutting out her heart."


xxx
page 28:
"He frowned some more before he looked back at me and said, "A girl like that doesn't live next door to everyone, you know."
"Lucky them1""


xxx
page 31:
"After all, the last thing I needed was for Juli Baker to think I missed her."


xxx
page 32:
"I love to watch my father paint. Or really, I love to hear him talk while he paints. The words always come out soft and somehow heavy when he's brushing on the layers of a landscape. Not sad. Weary, maybe, but peaceful."


xxx
page 34:
"Mostly the things he talked about floated around me, but once in a while something would happen and I would understand exactly what he had meant. "A painting is more than the sum of its parts," he would tell me, and then go on to explain how the cow by itself is just a cow, and the meadow by itself is just grass and flowers, and the sun peeking through the trees is just a beam of light, but put them all together and you've got magic."


xxx
page 35:
"Kites can be lucky or they can be ornery. I've had both kinds, and a lucky kite is definitely worth chasing after."


xxx
page 35:
"That's when the fear of being up so high began to lift, and in its place came the most amazing feeling that I was flying. Just soaring above the earth, sailing among the clouds.
Then I began to notice how wonderful the breeze smelled. It smelled like . . . sunshine and wild grass and pomegranates and rain!"


xxx
page 37:
"It wasn't long before I wasn't afraid of being up so high and found the spot that became my spot. I could sit up there for hours, just looking out at the world. Sunsets were amazing. Some days they'd be purple and pink, some days they'd be a blazing orange, setting fire to the clouds across the horizon. 
It was on a day like that when my father's notion of the whole being greater than the sum of its parts moved from my head to my heart. The view from my sycamore was more than rooftops and clouds and wind and colors combined.
It was magic.
And I started marveling at how I was feeling both humble and majestic. How was that possible? How could I be so full of wonder? How could this simple tree make me feel so complex? So alive."


xxx
page 43:
""Oh, Dad, it's okay. I'll get over it."
I started crying. "It was just a tree . . ."
"I never want you to convince yourself of that. You and I both know it isn't true."
"But Dad . . ."
"Bear with me a minute, would you?" He took a deep breath. "I want the spirit of that tree to be with you always. I want you to remember how you felt when you were up there."


xxx
page 62:
"Was I really afraid of hurting her feelings?
Or was a afraid of her?"


xxx
page 85:
"He pulled my curtain aside and looked across the street. "One's character is set at an early age, son. The choices you make now will affect you for the rest of your life." He was quiet fro a minute, then dropped the curtain and said, "I hate to see you swim out so far you can't swim back."
"Yes, sir."
He frowned and said, "Don't yes-sir me, Bryce." Then he stood and added, "Just think about what I've said, and the next time you're faced with a choice, do the right thing. It hurts everyone less in the long run."


xxx
page 89:
"I could not see Juli coated in powder. Okay, maybe gunpowder, but the white perfumy stuff? Forget it."


xxx
page 95:
"Very quietly my granddad said, "You can't dwell on what might have been, Bryce." Then, like he could read my mind, he added, "And it's not fair to condemn him for something he hasn't done."

and

"He stood up and said, "Say, I'm in the mood for a walk. Want to join me?"
Go for a walk? What I wanted to do was go to my room, lock the door, and be left alone.
"I find it really helps clear the mind," he said, and that's when I realized this wasn't just a walk - this was an invitation to do something together."


xxx
page 96:
""The tree's gone, but she's till got the spark it gave her. Know what I mean?"
Luckily I didn't have to answer."


xxx
page 98:
"They were, I don't know, deep. Sitting in that tree was seriously philosophical to her.
And the odd thing is, it all made sense to me. She talked about what it felt like to be up in that tree, and how it, like, transcended dimensional space. "To be held above the earth and brushed by the wind," she said, "it's like your heart has been kissed by beauty." Who in junior high do you know that would put together a sentence like that?


xxx
page 105:
"I felt sorry for my father. I felt sorry for my mother. But most of all I felt lucky for me that they were mine."


xxx
page 106:
"But if chaos is a necessary step in the organization of one's universe, then I was well on my way."


xxx
page 110:
""There's nothing like a headstrong woman to make you happy to be alive."


and


"He wanted to know about the sycamore tree and seemed to understand exactly what I meant when I told about the whole being greater than the sum of its parts. "It's the way with people, too," he said, "only with people, it's sometimes that the whole is less than the sum of the parts."
I thought that was pretty interesting. And the next day during school I looked around at the people I'd known wince elementary school, trying to figure out if they were more or less than the sum of their parts. Chet was right. A lot of them were less."


xxx
page 112:
""It's easy to look back and see it, and it's easy to give the advice, but the sad fact is most people don't look beneath the surface until it's too late.""


xxx
page 116:
"The rest of the evening I bounced back and forth between upset and uneasy. The worst part being, I couldn't really put my finger on what exactly I was upset or uneasy about. Of course it was Bryce, but why wasn't I just mad? He'd been such a . . . scoundrel. Or happy? What wasn't I just happy? He'd come over to our house. He'd stood on our driveway. He'd said nice things. We'd laughed.
But I wasn't mad or happy. And as I lay in bed trying to read, I realized that upset had been overshadowed by uneasy. I felt as though someone was watching me. I got so spooked I even got up and checked out the window an din the closet and under the bed, but still the feeling didn't go away. 
It took me until nearly midnight to understand what it was.
It was me. Watching me."


xxx
page 131:
"It was like the silence connected us in a way that explanations never could."


xxx
page 157:
"Then she was gone. Out the door and into the night, part of a chorus of happy good-byes."


xxx
page 158:
"And now I was seeing that there was something really cool about that family. All of them. They were just . . . real. And who were we? There was something spinning wickedly out of control inside this house. It was like seeing inside the Bakers' world had opened up windows into our own, and the view was not a pretty one.
Where had all this stuff come from?
And why hadn't I ever seen it before.


xxx
page 163:
"Well! Surely he was not interested in perpetual motion. I barely was myself! So, I reasoned, continuing our discussion would drive him away. I dove back in, and when the conversation started to peter out, I came up with my own ideas on perpetual-motion machines. I was like a perpetual-idea machine, spinning ridiculous suggestions right out of the air."


xxx
page 166:
"As I looked around, it struck me that we were having dinner with a group of strangers. We'd lived across the street for years, but I didn't know these people at all."


xxx
page 167:
""You boys showed a lot of restraint tonight. I don't know if I could've kept my cool that way."
"Aw, he's just, you know . . . entrenched," Matt said. "Gotta adjust to the perspective and deal from there." Then he added, "Not that I'd want him as my dad . . ."
Mike practically sprayed his milk. "Dude! Can you imagine?" Then Matt gave my dad a slap on the back and said, "No way/ I'm sticking with my main man here." My mom grinned from across the table and said, "Me too."


xxx
page 169:
"It felt good to take charge of my own destiny! I felt strong and right and certain.
Little did I know how a few days back at school would change all of that."


xxx
page 180:
"My heart lurched. What was she laughing about? What were they talking about? How could she sit there and look so . . . beautiful?"


xxx
page 185:
"Juli was different, but after all these years that didn't bother me anymore.
I liked it.
I liked her.
And every time I saw her, she seemed more beautiful. She just seemed to glow. I'm not talking like a hundred-watt bulb; she just had this warmth to her. Maybe it came from climbing that tree. Maybe it came from singing to chickens. Maybe it came from whacking at two-by-fours and dreaming of perpetual motion. I don't know. All I know is that compared to her, Shelly and Miranda seemed so ... ordinary."


xxx
page 187:
""It started with that stupid newspaper article. And I don't know . . . I've been weirded out ever since. She doesn't look the same, she doesn't sound the same, she doesn't even seem like the same person to me!" I stared our the window at the Bakers'. "She's . . . she's just different."
My grandfather stood beside me and looked across the street, too. "No, Bryce," he said softly. "She's the same as she's always been; you're the one who's changed." He clapped his hand on my shoulder and whispered, "And son, from here on out, you'll never be the same again."


xxx
page 194:
""I ran in the house, calling, "Mom! Mom, there's grass!"
"Really?" She emerged from the bathroom with her cleaning gloves and a pail. "I was wondering if it was ever going to spring up."
"Well, it has! Come! Come and see!"
She wasn't too impressed at first. But after I made her get down on her hands and knees and really look, she smiled and said, "They're so delicate . . . ."
"They look like they're yawning, don't they?"
She cocked her head a bit and looked a little closer. "Yawning?"
"Well, more stretching, I guess. Like they're sitting up in their little bed of dirt with they're arms stretched way up high, saying, Good morning, world!"
She laughed and said, "Yes, they do!"
I got up and uncoiled the hose. "I think they need a wake-up shower, don't you?"
My mom agreed and left me to my singing and sprinkling."


xxx
page 211:
"Already I can tell - it's going to be an amazing, magnificent tree.
And I can't help wondering, a hundred years from now will a kid climb it the way I climbed the one up on Collier Street? Will she see the things I did? Will she feel the way I did?
Will it change her life the way it changed mine?"


xxx
page 212:
"So maybe I should go over there and thank him for the tree. Maybe we could sit on the porch and talk. It just occurred to me that in all the years we've known each other, we've never done that. Never really talked.
Maybe my mother's right. Maybe there is more to Bryce Loski than I know. 
Maybe it's time to meet him in the proper light."

le book review number fourty-five~ the restaurant at the end of the universe

| | | 0 comments
title: the restaurant at the end of the universe
author: douglas adams
series: the hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy (book #2)
pages: 200 pages
personal star rating: 3/5 stars

from the back of the book:
"When all questions of space, time, matter and the nature of being have been resolved, only one question remains - 'Where shall we have dinner?' The Restaurant at the End of the Universe provides the ultimate gastronomic experience, and for once there is no morning after to worry about.

first line:
"The story so far:
 In the beginning the Universe was created."

review:
I found I like specific parts of the book but overall, it just wasn't as good as it seemed. I thought I really really liked this series but I'm not so sure now. I think the series is well written but at times it gets boring with the way it's described. But at the same time, the way it is written is so captivating of the events, it's just the events aren't as interesting as I would have hoped. I love the writing style, and I love the way the author describes everything but the actual events lead up to a disappointing point. I don't know if I was just expecting something more, something else entirely, or I just wasn't expecting anything but I don't know what to make of this book. I found it to be less memorable than I anticipated. I honestly think it deserves the 3 stars for writing with a clear voice, intriguing ideas and having great characters but the two star loss is from the actual events - they just didn't impact me overall.

my shelf this monday~ (28/5/2012)

Monday, 28 May 2012

| | | 0 comments
I realize I have two book reviews that I've yet to write but I haven't found the time to finish those up.

Anyway, if you're curious, the two books that I finished reading but haven't posted yet are Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen and The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams.

What's in my TBR pile? As for new books, I have 3 Series of Unfortunate Events books and the last 3 books in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy trilogy of five.

Also, I ordered Pre-ordered Sherlock season 2 and it should be arriving within a couple days so no promises with how much I'll be reading.

What are you reading this week?

feature friday~ bookcases (5)

Friday, 25 May 2012

| | | 0 comments

Today's bookcase is compliments of my sister. She found this picture somewhere on the internet and said, "I hope you haven't posted your feature yet; have i got something to show you!" So lo and behold, I refrained from posting the intended bookcase and I'm glad I did. This is perfect. I'd have this in my house. I love it. Being a huge Doctor Who fan, I adore this immensely. I'd love to actually own this someday. Thank you to my sister for showing this to me.

my shelf this monday~ (21/5/2012)

Monday, 21 May 2012

| | | 2 comments
I know it's a little late, but it's still monday.

This week I plan on finishing the restaurant at the end of the universe. I also hope to read something that's been on my shelf awhile. Maybe the Cardturner or I'll dig into this book of horror and suspense short stories I took from the library. Too many TBR and not enough days in a week.

My sister also bought me six Agatha Christie novels from a garage sale and I found another four at a bookstore. I also bought Cloud Atlas that I might or might not open this week.

What's on your shelf this week?

le book review number fourty-four~ heartless

| | | 0 comments
title: heartless
author: sara shepard
series: pretty little liars #7
pages: 274 pages
personal star rating: 3.5/5 stars

from the back cover:
Four gorgeous girls are telling very ugly stories. First Emily, Aria, Hanna, and Spencer claimed they found a dead body in the woods behind Spencer's house, only to have it vanish without a trace. Then, when the same woods went up in flames, they swore they saw someone who's supposed to be dead rise from the ashes. And even after all that, the pretty little liars are still playing with fire. Call me heartless, but it's about time someone shut these liars up for good. After all, nobody likes a girl who cries wolf - least of all me . . . . 
-A

first line:
"Ever have something really important just up and vanish without a trace?"

review:
In this book, the stories are really separate until the end where everything ties together. I found that to be really great - it showed how each event led to another and it connected at the end. I was surprised in some places but in others it felt so obvious that I thought, how are they missing this? Overall it was intriguing and I wanted to find out what was going to happen. I think I'm at the point in the series I just want to find out who did it. I think as a whole, the book was alright but mostly my enjoyment is because I read the first six books in the series and now I just want to see how it will end.

feature friday~ bookcases (4)

Friday, 18 May 2012

| | | 0 comments

These bookshelves are beautiful. The shape is like a mirror and they have an elegant border surrounding them. This design would look wonderful on a wall with a few pictures. I especially like the simplicity mixed with a bit of flair. These are beautiful shelves.

Found at: http://www.designsdelight.com/bookshelves/creative-wood-bookshelves-cusom-bookshelves/attachment/mirror-shaped-bookshelf/

my shelf this monday~ (14/5/2012)

Monday, 14 May 2012

| | | 0 comments
What's new on my shelf this week? 

I borrowed Heartless by Sara Shepard from the library as well as 999: New Stories of Horror and Suspense. 

I finished reading Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories last week.

I started reading The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams. 

I still have four books from last week from the library as well.

What books are you reading this week?

mothers day: a shout-out to moms~

Sunday, 13 May 2012

| | | 0 comments
Happy mother's day to all those moms out there. I'd like to take a moment and say I really love my mom. First of all, I can say my love of reading stems from my mom taking time to read to me when I was young. I still remember one book my mom would read and she'd cry - I Love You Forever by  Robert Munsch.

And in that book there is a line that says: "i love you forever i'll like you for always as long as i'm living my baby you'll be."

It's a very moving book and it means a lot to me.

So tell your mom you love her today and perhaps you can read your favourite childhood book with her. Pick up your phones or take a minute after reading this post to go tell your mom what she means to you.

Happy Mother's Day!


feature friday: bookcases~ (3)

Saturday, 12 May 2012

| | | 2 comments

This bookcase is beautiful. The colour with the rock background works perfectly. I love the different sizes of squares and how it fits with the space provided. I think the different things you could do with this is wonderful. The colour is eye popping and perfect for a more colourless, monochrome room to add that flair. 


le book review number forty-three~ killer

Monday, 7 May 2012

| | | 0 comments
title: killer
series: pretty little liars (book #6)
author: sara shepard
pages: 321 pages
personal star rating: 3.5/5 stars

from the back cover:
"Rosewood, Pennsylvania, seems picture perfect, but pictures often lie - and so do Rosewood's four prettiest girls.
Hanna's on a mission to corrupt Rosewood's youth - starting with a very attractive sophomore. Aria's snooping into her boyfriend's past. Spencer's stealing . . . from her family. And pure little Emily's abstaining from abstinence. 
Tsk, tsk, tsk. These pretty little liars should be careful. Sure, the old A is dead, but there's a new A in town turning up the heat. And this time Rosewood's going to burn.
-A

first sentence:
"What if, all of a sudden, you could remember every single second of your entire life?"

review:
I found this book to be alright. I didn't enjoy it as much as a few of the others in the series, but I did find the events to continue to amaze me. I liked it and it was alright. One thing I have consistently liked was the chapter titles. They're intriguing and interesting and often times tell you what is going to happen but in a good way. I often don't know what to expect as I read and the series, although beginning to become a bit tiresome, still has enough mysterious aspects to keep me reading.